In 1889, the priest Léon-Alfred Sentenne entrusted the architects Perreault and Mesnard with the construction of a chapel for ceremonies gathering a limited number of people, such as weddings and funerals. Baptized “Notre-Dame du Sacré-Cœur”, it is inaugurated on December 8, 1891, the feast day of the Virgin. It showcases a gothic revival style, rich in carved motifs.

The interior design of the chapel before 1978.

A DEVASTATING FIRE

Unfortunately, a fire seriously caused damage on December 7, 1978. The reconstruction was entrusted to the architects Jodoin, Lamarre, Pratte and associates who suggested reconstructing the first two levels in the same way, using cabinetmakers, sculptors and carpenters who work according to ancient methods. The vault received a modern treatment that allowed for natural light to come in. The new chapel was inaugurated in 1982. Today, the Chapel is reserved for Adoration and meditation.

The fire on December 7, 1978.

DECORATION

This chapel makes a striking impression with its great luminosity and the numerous decorative details. The altarpiece by Quebec sculptor, Charles Daudelin, consists of 32 bronze panels. It weighs 20 tons and measures 5 m in width by 18 meters in height. The organ, of a French style, with mechanical traction, comes from the Guilbault-Thérien firm of Saint-Hyacinthe. It has 1648 pipes. The console has 25 sets on 2 keyboards, with pedal board.

The alterpiece

The organ