In 1889, the priest Léon-Alfred Sentenne entrusted the architects Perreault and Mesnard with the construction of a chapel for ceremonies gathering a limited number of people, such as weddings and funerals. Baptized “Notre-Dame du Sacré-Cœur”, it is inaugurated on December 8, 1891, the feast day of the Virgin. It showcases a gothic revival style, rich in carved motifs.

The interior design of the chapel before 1978.

A DEVASTATING FIRE

Unfortunately, a fire seriously caused damage on December 7, 1978. The reconstruction was entrusted to the architects Jodoin, Lamarre, Pratte and associates who suggested reconstructing the first two levels in the same way, using cabinetmakers, sculptors and carpenters who work according to ancient methods. The vault received a modern treatment that allowed for natural light to come in. The new chapel was inaugurated in 1982. Today, the Chapel is reserved for Adoration and meditation.

The fire on December 7, 1978.

DECORATION

This chapel makes a striking impression with its great luminosity and the numerous decorative details. The altarpiece by Quebec sculptor, Charles Daudelin, consists of 32 bronze panels. It weighs 20 tons and measures 5 m in width by 18 meters in height. The organ, of a French style, with mechanical traction, comes from the Guilbault-Thérien firm of Saint-Hyacinthe. It has 1648 pipes. The console has 25 sets on 2 keyboards, with pedal board.

The alterpiece

The organ

En 1889, le curé Léon-Alfred Sentenne confie aux architectes Perreault et Mesnard la construction d'une chapelle qui sert aux cérémonies rassemblant un nombre restreint de personnes, comme les mariages et les funérailles. Baptisée Notre-Dame du Sacré-Cœur et inaugurée le 8 décembre 1891, jour de la fête de la Vierge, elle affiche un style néo-gothique riche en motifs sculptés.

L'intérieur de la chapelle avant 1978.

UN INCENDIE RAVAGEUR

Malheureusement, un incendie l'endommage gravement le 7 décembre 1978. Sa reconstruction est confiée aux architectes Jodoin, Lamarre, Pratte et associés qui suggèrent de reconstruire les deux premiers niveaux à l'identique, en faisant appel à des ébénistes, sculpteurs et menuisiers qui travaillent selon des méthodes anciennes. La voûte reçoit un traitement moderne qui permet un éclairage naturel. La nouvelle chapelle est inaugurée en 1982. Aujourd’hui, la Chapelle est réservée à lAdoration et au recueillement.

Incendie de la chapelle le 7 décembre 1978

DÉCORATION

Cette chapelle marque les esprits par sa grande luminosité et les nombreux détails décoratifs. Le retable du sculpteur québécois Charles Daudelin est constitué de 32 panneaux en bronze. Il pèse 20 tonnes et mesure 5 m de largeur par 18 mètres de hauteur. L’orgue, de type français, à traction mécanique, provient de la firme Guilbault-Thérien de Saint-Hyacinthe. Il possède 1 648 tuyaux. La console possède 25 jeux sur 2 claviers, avec pédalier.

Le retable

L'orgue de la chapelle.