Mass in Solidarity with the Archdiocese of Paris

Montréal, April 16, 2019  - The Most Reverend Christian Lépine, Archbishop of Montreal, will celebrate today a Mass to be in solidarity with the Archdiocese of Paris, following yesterday’s fire at Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris.

 

“This tragedy has occurred at the beginning of the Holy Week. We stand in genuine sympathy with the citizens and the faithful of Paris, and with all those affected by this tragedy in France and throughout the world, » said Archbishop Lépine.

 

This grand 850-year-old Gothic cathedral is imbued with symbolic meaning for millions of people. By its towering height, it evokes the desire to seek God; by its vastness, it invites people to assemble in great numbers; by its history, it is a tangible sign of the collaboration of generations and of enduring hope.

 

The Mass will be held at 12:15 p.m. at the Notre-Dame Basilica, located at 110, Notre-Dame West, in Montreal.

Thank you for respecting silence and no flash during the ceremony.

Notre-Dame de Paris : messe de solidarité envers le Diocèse de Paris

Messe de solidarité avec le Diocèse de Paris

Montréal, le 16 avril 2019 – L’archevêque de Montréal, Monseigneur Christian Lépine, célébrera aujourd’hui une messe de solidarité avec le Diocèse de Paris, à la suite de l’incendie survenu hier à la Cathédrale Notre-Dame. 

 

« Cette tragédie arrive tout juste au début de la semaine sainte. Nous sympathisons avec les citoyens et citoyennes de Paris, avec les fidèles et avec toutes les personnes qui sont attristées en France et dans le monde », a déclaré Mgr Lépine.

 

Cette grande cathédrale gothique de plus de 850 ans, a une valeur symbolique qui touche des millions de personnes. Par sa hauteur elle évoque le désir de Dieu, par sa grandeur elle veut rassembler les humains, par son histoire elle est un signe de collaboration entre les générations et d’espérance.

 

La messe aura lieu à 12 h 15 à la Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, située au 110 rue Notre-Dame Ouest, Montréal.

Merci de respecter le silence durant la cérémonie et de ne pas utiliser de flashs.