Following the first part: The founding of Montreal

In 1672, the location of a stone church within the axis of Notre-Dame Street was determined. The construction work cost a fortune, and finally after ten years, the church of Notre-Dame was open, which had no bell tower or facade due to lack of means.

Despite the extensions, the church became too small. It was also after the construction of a rival Catholic church, the St-Jacques Cathedral (burnt down in 1852), that the parish priest and the churchwardens of Notre-Dame decided to rebuild their church. The old church of Notre-Dame was demolished in 1830 and its tower, in 1843. Once completed the two towers of the new church would be on opposite sides. The traces of the old church are visible on the ground at the current Place d'Armes and on the square.

La Place d'Armes, Montréal, Qc 1828. An water-colors of Robert Auchmuty Sproule. McCord museum. A view of the ancient Notre-Dame church.

The choice of an architect

The Fabrique Notre-Dame therefore formed a fifteen-member construction committee whose mandate was to organize fundraisers and to select an architect of a church that could accommodate 8,000 faithful and be the most beautiful of its kind in North America. To do this, they choose a New York protestant architect, James O'Donnell.

O'Donnell was inspired by the gothic revival style that was then flourishing in Europe and the United States. The architecture of the new Notre-Dame church is inspired by the two towers of Notre-Dame de Paris and Saint-Sulpice. It became the first church of the Gothic Revival style in Canada.

Despite the meteorological conditions which prevented the workers from working during the winter, construction would only take 35 months, from 1824 to 1829, between April and October, but it took more than ten years for the installation of the steeples. O'Donnell died in 1830 after converting to Catholicism. His crypt is under the Basilica. Visitors who participate in the the Grand Tour can see it.

The West Tower was completed in 1841, and was named La Persévérance. Since 1848 it has been home to the famous bell, Jean-Baptiste which weighs 10 900 kg, and comes from England. The East Tower, named La Tempérance, was completed in 1843 and houses a carillon (bell tower) of ten bells from the same English manufacturer.

In 1865, the facade of the church was completed with the installation of three large statues of Saint-Joseph (Canada), the Virgin Mary (Montreal) and Saint Jean-Baptiste (Quebec). The interior decor could not be completed during O'Donnell's lifetime. This attracted much criticism at the time, especially due to the lighting. Indeed, a canopy in place of the present sanctuary blinded the congregation during the masses from a backlit light. As early as 1856, la Fabrique Notre-Dame asked for a review of the plans. Under the direction of the Montreal architect, Victor Bourgeau, the interior decorations was completed in 1880.

The Basilica sanctuary in 1860, before its reconstruction. Archive from McCord museum.

Becoming of a Basilica

Notre-Dame is rooted in what we now call Old Montréal. This was one of the great events of the 19th and 20th centuries. It was Pope John Paul II who, on April 21, 1982, raised Notre-Dame Church to the rank of a Minor Basilica. This was an  opportunity to recognize the religious, historical and artistic significance of the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, one of the jewels of Québec's heritage.

The Basilica around 1895

Read the third part: A very active place

Before the important construction to build the downtown of Montreal we know today, Notre-Dame bells were heard everywhere in Montréal.

Suite de la première partie: La fondation de Montréal et l'arrivée des sulpiciens.

En 1672, on détermine l’emplacement d’une église de pierre dans l’axe de la rue Notre-Dame. Les travaux de construction coûtent une fortune, et c’est finalement au bout de dix ans que l’on ouvre l’église Notre-Dame, qui n’a alors ni clocher ni façade, faute de moyens.

Malgré des agrandissements, l’église devient trop petite. C’est aussi à la suite de la construction d’une église catholique rivale, la cathédrale Saint-Jacques (incendiée en 1852), que le curé et les marguilliers de Notre-Dame décident de reconstruire leur église. L’ancienne église Notre-Dame fut donc démolie en 1830, et sa tour, en 1843 lorsque la construction des deux tours de la nouvelle église fut terminée. La nouvelle église est désormais située en face de l'ancienne. Ses traces sont visibles au sol sur la Place d’Armes actuelle et sur le parvis.

La Place d'Armes, Montréal, Qc 1828. Une aquarelle de Robert Auchmuty Sproule. Musée McCord. Une vue de l'ancienne église Notre-Dame. 

Le choix d'un architecte

La Fabrique Notre-Dame forme donc un comité de construction de quinze membres qui a pour mandat, en plus d’organiser des levées de fonds, de choisir l’architecte d’une église qui peut accueillir 8 000 fidèles et être la plus belle d’Amérique. Pour ce faire, ils choisissent un architecte protestant de New York, James O’Donnell.

O’Donnell s’inspire du style néogothique alors en effervescence en Europe et aux États-Unis. L’architecture de la nouvelle église Notre-Dame est inspirée par les deux tours de Notre-Dame de Paris et de Saint-Sulpice. Son oeuvre devient la première église de style néo-gothique du Canada.

Malgré les conditions météorologiques qui empêchent les ouvriers de travailler l’hiver, la construction ne prendra que 35 mois, de 1824 à 1829, entre avril et octobre. Il faut toutefois attendre plus de dix ans pour l’installation des clochers, faute de moyens. O’Donnell meurt en 1830 après s’être converti au catholicisme. Son corps repose dans la crypte de la Basilique. Les visiteurs qui font le Grand Tour peuvent d’ailleurs la voir.

En 1841 on complète la tour Ouest, nommée La Persévérance. Depuis 1848 elle loge le célèbre bourdon Jean-Baptiste qui pèse 10 900 kg qui provient d’Angleterre. La tour Est, nommée La Tempérance, est terminée en 1843 et abrite un carillon de dix cloches de la même fonderie anglaise.

En 1865 on complète la façade de l’église en y installant trois grandes statues de Saint-Joseph (le Canada), de la Vierge Marie (Montréal) et de Saint Jean-Baptiste (le Québec). Son décor intérieur n’a pas pu être achevé du vivant de O’Donnell. Il suscite de nombreuses critiques à l’époque, en particulier à cause de l’éclairage. En effet, une verrière à la place du sanctuaire actuel aveuglait les fidèles durant les messes d’une lumière en contre-jour. Dès 1856, la Fabrique Notre-Dame demande une révision des plans. Sous la direction de l’architecte montréalais Victor Bourgeau, les travaux d’embellissement du décor intérieur sont achevés en 1880.

L'ancienne décoration du sanctuaire, vers 1860. Archive du Musée McCord. Don de Frank Toker à la Basilique.

D'église à basilique

Notre-Dame a pris racine dans ce que nous appelons aujourd’hui le Vieux-Montréal. Elle a fait partie des grands événements du XIXe et XXe siècle. C’est le Pape Jean-Paul II qui, le 21 avril 1982, élève l’église Notre-Dame au rang de basilique mineure. Une occasion de reconnaitre l’importance religieuse, historique et artistique de la basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, l’un des joyaux du patrimoine québécois.

La Basilique vers 1895.

 

Lire la suite: Un lieu actif

Avant la construction des hautes tours au centre-ville de Montréal, les clochers de Notre-Dame résonnaient dans toute la ville.