AURA: live a luminous experience at the Basilica

Considered to be a place of history, Notre-Dame was designated as a place of national historic significance by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, in 1989. Since its foundation, the basilica has been the site of major religious and cultural events.

To name a few:

  • The funerals of Sir Georges Étienne Cartier in 1873, Pierre-Elliot Trudeau in October 2000, and Maurice Richard in 2001.
  • Pope John Paul II celebrated a mass for children on 11 September 1984.
  • Céline Dion and René Angélil were married there on December 17, 1994.

Since 1918, the annual commemorative festivities of the foundation of the city have been celebrated here, under the aegis of the Société historique de Montréal. On May 17, 2017, the Mass commemorating the city's 375th anniversary was held at the Basilica in the presence of many notable people, including the Prime Ministers of Canada, Justin Trudeau, and of Quebec, Philippe Couillard.

Being a place of culture, the Basilica is often frequented by music lovers who can enjoy concerts, choirs and the famous Casavant organ, thanks to its impeccable acoustics.

Luciano Pavarotti gave a Christmas concert at the Basilica in 1978. It is available everywhere in DVD, and also at the Basilica's boutique.

The active and innovative team at the Basilica initiated exhibitions and shows. One of sound and light Et la lumière fût was presented for ten years. Performances that have attracted 300 000 visitors.

Since March 2017, AURA, a Moment Factory production initiated by the Basilica, is presented five evenings a week. This unique luminous experience allows spectators to rediscover the breathtaking interior and architectural wonders of the Basilica.

As a tourism hotspot, the Basilica welcomes close to a million visitors from all over the world annually, unanimously enthralled by the beauty of the location, and who also have the opportunity to explore the religious history of Quebec.

AURA: vivez une expérience lumineuse au coeur de la Basilique

Lieu d’histoire, Notre-Dame a été désignée en 1989 comme lieu d’importance historique nationale par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Depuis sa fondation, la Basilique a été le théâtre de grands événements religieux et culturels.

Notamment :

  • Les funérailles de sir Georges Étienne Cartier en 1873, celles de Pierre-Elliot Trudeau en octobre 2000, de même que celles de Maurice Richard en 2001.

  • Jean-Paul II y a célébré une messe pour les enfants le 11 septembre 1984.

  • Céline Dion et René Angélil y ont célébré leur mariage le 17 décembre 1994.

Depuis 1918, c’est là que sont célébrées les fêtes commémoratives annuelles de la fondation de la ville, sous l’égide de la Société historique de Montréal. Le 17 mai 2017, la messe commémorant le 375e anniversaire de la métropole a été donnée à la Basilique en présence de nombreuses personnalités, notamment des Premiers ministres du Canada, Justin Trudeau, et du Québec, Philippe Couillard.

Lieu de culture, la Basilique, grâce à son impeccable acoustique, est très fréquentée par les mélomanes qui peuvent y apprécier les nombreux concerts, chorales et notre orgue Casavant.

Luciano Pavarotti s'est produit à la Basilique en 1978 pour enregistrer un concert de Noël. Le dvd de ce concert est en vente partout et à la boutique de la Basilique.

Active et innovante, l’équipe de la Basilique y a également initié des expositions et des spectacles. Celui de son et lumière Et la lumière fût a été présenté pendant 10 ans et a attiré 300 000 spectateurs.

Depuis mars 2017, AURA, une production de Moment Factory initiée par la Basilique, est présentée cinq soirs par semaine. Cette expérience lumineuse unique permet aux spectateurs de redécouvrir les beautés intérieures et architecturales de la Basilique.

Lieu de tourisme, la Basilique accueille annuellement près d’un million de visiteurs venus du monde entier, unanimes sur la beauté des lieux, et qui ont ainsi l’occasion de prendre contact avec l’histoire religieuse du Québec.