I’d like to welcome you all to the Notre-Dame basilica of Montreal’s new Website.

This magnificent church, located in Old Montreal, is a powerful symbol of our city and its history. The Basilica memorialises our city’s mystical foundations. In addition to being an undeniable tourist attraction, the Notre-Dame basilica is a place of faith, spirituality, warmth and connection with God. Its primary mission and purpose is the proclamation of the Gospel.

To fulfill this mission, the Basilica has a wonderful Pastoral Team that is committed to bearing witness to the faith and helping find a balance between religious, cultural and touristic activities taking place at the Basilica.

We’ve created a schedule to ensure that our priests are available to accommodate persons of faith who wish to take part in confession, exchange religious objects or have them blessed.  We’ve also designated the Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Coeur chapel as a space for contemplation, silent reflection and meditation.  To facilitate prayer, the Blessed Sacrament is exposed from Monday to Friday, as well as on Sundays.

I hope to create a welcoming environment at the Basilica where everyone is respected as an equal. Our devoted employees ensure the respect of our place and the quality of our reception towards visitors and parishioners. We’d like to accommodate religious education for anyone who may be looking to receive it.  I want your wedding day to be one of the most beautiful memories of your entire life, and I want the baptisms of your children to be true celebrations of new life. A life received from God. We offer support in faith, in respect and in hope for those who are in need of funeral services for a loved one.

The Basilica hosts activities, both religious and touristic, with a spirit of openness to all, and a spirit of solidarity towards those in need. We encourage everyone to engage in whichever local Christian communities they choose.

No matter who you are, we hope you enjoy your visit to the Notre-Dame basilica of Montreal.

 

Miguel Castellanos, P.S.S., pastor

President of the Board of directors of the Fabrique de la paroisse Notre-Dame de Montréal.

Je vous souhaite la bienvenue sur le site Web de la basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal.

 

Cette magnifique église, située dans le Vieux-Montréal, est un symbole puissant de notre métropole et de son histoire. Elle est la gardienne de ses fondations mystiques. Au-delà de son attrait touristique incontournable, la basilique Notre-Dame est un lieu de foi, de spiritualité, d’accueil et de rencontre avec Dieu. Sa mission principale est l’annonce de l’Évangile; c’est sa raison d’être.

 

Pour remplir cette mission, il y a une équipe pastorale qui s’investit pour témoigner de la foi et pour trouver un équilibre entre les activités touristiques, culturelles et religieuses de la Basilique.

 

Nous avons créé un horaire pour que nos prêtres soient à la disposition des fidèles qui désirent se confesser, échanger ou faire bénir des objets religieux. Nous avons aussi choisi la chapelle Notre-Dame du Sacré-Cœur comme un espace de recueillement, de méditation et de silence. Et pour faciliter la prière, le Saint-Sacrement y est exposé du lundi au vendredi, ainsi que le dimanche.

 

Je souhaite créer à la Basilique un environnement chaleureux où chacun et chacune est accueilli dans le respect. Nos employés dévoués veillent au respect des lieux et à la qualité d’accueil des visiteurs et paroissiens. Nous voulons accompagner qui le souhaite dans l’éducation de la foi. Je souhaite que le jour de votre mariage soit le plus beau souvenir de votre vie et que le baptême de vos enfants soit la fête d’une vie nouvelle. Une vie reçue de Dieu. Nous accompagnons dans la foi, dans le respect et dans l’espérance les personnes qui demandent la tenue de funérailles pour un être cher.

 

La Basilique gère ses activités, tant religieuses que touristiques, dans un esprit d’ouverture envers tous et dans un esprit de solidarité envers les plus démunis de la société. Nous encourageons également les personnes à s’engager dans les communautés chrétiennes locales.

 

À tous, nous espérons que votre passage à la basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal vous soit agréable.

 

Miguel Castellanos, p.s.s., curé

Président du conseil d’administration de la Fabrique de la paroisse Notre-Dame de Montréal.